About Us

Historical Review

The Hamilton & District Chapter was formed in June 1963 with it's charter being signed March 1967. This Chapter serves Hamilton, Niagara Peninsula, Brantford and Burlington areas.

Through the years, there have been many changes in all facets of life; socially, politically and economically. The aim of the Hamilton & District Chapter from 1963 to present has been to promote education, assist and encourage students, assist graduates to fulfill with honor and distinction their place in the business world and to provide a venue of social and intellectual activities for the benefits of the membership and students.

Through our monthly dinner meetings, we have seen and heard such speakers as Knowlton Nash, Sheila Copps and Al Brenner of the Hamilton TiCats.

Socially, we have attended such functions as Liberace Night, Day at the Races, Murder Mystery Nights, Stagewest, Diva Impersonators and of course, the traditional February Social Night. We have participated in a friendly rivalry with London and Conestoga Chapters with a Tri Chapter Golf tournament.

The Hamilton and District Chapter has also achieved some special points in our short history:

  • Winning the Quaker Oats Trophy 2 years in a row 1975-76, 1976-1977 s well as winners in 2006-07.
  • For his initiating the founding of the Hamilton & District Chapter, the Frank J. McCafferty memorial fund was set up in his honor in Feb. 1975.
  • WH (Bill) Norman was elected to President & Dean of the Credit Institute of Canada in Oct. 1977.
  • Heather Wilson unveiled the new CIC Professional Development Program in Nov. 1999.
  • A special presentation was made to Art Adams thanking him and the Credit Bureau of Southern Ontario for the ongoing support in Nov. 2001.

So many people have contributed to the success of the Hamilton & District Chapter over the years in volunteering their time in providing leadership to the membership and students none more than the Presidents of Hamilton & District Chapter.

  • 1963-1964 Gord Steer
  • 1964-1965 Art Beatty
  • 1965-1967 Tony DiFrancesco, F.C.I.*
  • 1967-1968 Lorne Wettlauffer, A.C.I.
  • 1968-1969 Art Jenkins, F.C.I.
  • 1969-1970 Harold Manto, F.C.I.
  • 1970-1971 Jack Griffin, F.C.I.
  • 1971-1972 Bill Norman, F.C.I.(Emeritus)
  • 1972-1973 Sam Doyle, F.C.I.(Emeritus)
  • 1973-1974 Elsie Craven, F.C.I.
  • 1974-1975 Les Whetham, F.C.I.
  • 1975-1976 Warren Brewer, F.C.I.
  • 1976-1977 John Taylor, A.C.I.
  • 1977-1978 Colin MacSavaney, F.C.I.
  • 1978-1979 Terry Turner, F.C.I.
  • 1979-1980 Doris Mair, F.C.I.
  • 1980-1981 Jeff Haines, F.C.I.
  • 1981-1982 Allan Hale, F.C.I.(Emeritus)
  • 1982-1983 Lucia Donnelly, F.C.I.
  • 1983-1984 Paul Hammill, F.C.I.
  • 1984-1985 Henry Cormier, F.C.I.
  • 1985-1986 Chuck Zizzo, F.C.I.
  • 1986-1987 James L. Samson, F.C.I.
  • 1987-1988 Jerri Penrose, F.C.I.
  • 1988-1989 Wayne Massey, C.M.A.
  • 1989-1990 Colin MacSavaney, F.C.I.
  • 1990-1991 Lars Bjerno
  • 1991-1992 Carol Hepburn
  • 1992-1994 Pat Arnett, F.C.I.
  • 1994-1996 George Preece, F.C.I.(Emeritus)
  • 1996-1998 Julianna Graham, A.C.I.
  • 1998-2000 Joe Jamieson, A.C.I.
  • 2000-2002 Christine Fisher, F.C.I.
  • 2002-2004 Heather Wilson, F.C.I.
  • 2004-2006 Deborah Latan, B.A., F.C.I.
  • 2006-2007 Marisa Malatesta, F.C.I.
  • 2008-2010 Therese (Terrie) Demelo, CCP
  • 2010-2012 David Evans, CCP
  • 2012-2013 Charlene Terreberry, CCP
  • 2014 Vanessa Ingraham
  • 2014-2016 Frank Morson, CCP
  • 2016-2018 Sandra King, CCP
  • 2018-2019 Terrie DeMelo, CCP
  • 2019-2021 Barb Frenette, ACI
  • 2021-Present Angela Trevisan, CCP

* FCI, Fellow Credit Institute designation has been changed to CCP, Certified Credit Professional.